I guess you could say this was a rare cruise-control build. Nothing strange. Everything fit. The parts were all well done and accurate. No flash and only sprue gate cleanups required. I made minor modifications by inflicting a bit of damage on the skirts, but otherwise it was an almost out of the box build. I painted the camouflage twice. The first iteration was too subtile for my taste, and I like most WWII German AFV camo to be subtle because weather, wear, dust, etc. tended to diminish the colorful nature that we often see in reproductions. But, my first pass was just too lightweight, so I mixed up more paint and shot it again. Better.

Then came the Future coat followed by a light wash with water, Future and X-18 semi-gloss black. Then the oil paint “filters”, which are nothing more than picking what might be interesting colors, in this case black, white, yellow, red and raw umber, then spotting lightly around the hull with tiny dots applied with a toothpick. This was followed by a brush very lightly dampened with oil thinner to blend and mix the colors on the model. I hit some spots with microscopic amounts of burnt umber for some almost invisible streaking effects. Lastly, I mixed up white and umber oils, getting a very light tan, then progressing to white for dry brushing the edges, corners, raised details and so forth.

Then it was done. Kind of anti-climactic. A big brute of an AFV that now looks a bit silly in 1:48 scale. I think it does not have the menacing look that the original broadcast because in this small scale it looks more toy like than not. I suspect the 1:35 scale version, having more area to work with and more detail available would be a more satisfying model. The smaller scale, although superbly designed and manufactured, is more suited to certain cars and aircraft than fighting vehicles. You get to finish the model pretty rapidly, but unless you are into adding a bunch of aftermarket photo etch and resin detail you don’t have as much to appreciate.

So, this foray into the smaller scale for vehicles has shown me that at this stage of my modeling journey, I much prefer the larger scales for AFVs and similar vehicles. So, next up on the bench is Meng Model’s British Mk. V Male WWI tank, with full interior. This will raise another set of questions, mostly around the interior. Should I build it to be seen, or just go ahead and enjoy the build and the knowledge gained about what the insides were like?

