After consulting the color Meister, Marty Sanford, about lightening Tamiya acrylics (I like a subdued color scheme on WWII German armor) I spent a few hours with my Tamiya airbrush loaded with lightened and very dilute green, desert yellow and red brown. The crews often sprayed their own camouflage patterns in the field so that provides one the opportunity to go completely freehand.

Using severely dilute colors means the painting will take at least three times longer than otherwise. But it gives you the chance to build up the color intensity slowly, correct mistakes in progress and much more control over paint distribution.

After the tracks are given their initial paint and installed, them and the entire substructure will be painted and weathered to a much darker tone. I plan to apply selective washes, filters and dry brushing to bring out variations in the finish and highlight details. Won’t be too much Weathering or additional damage on this one. The tracks and substructure will accumulate some dirt and dust, but that will be the extent. I’m modeling a Sturmtiger, not the road, ground or mud.

Also, a pet peeve of mine, NO chipping. I might make an exception for on-board tools, the jack, etc. but no chipping on the rest of the vehicle. Drives me nuts to see the Mad Chipping School at work. From what I have read the Germans built quality AFVs which mostly had a very hard primer coat to protect the steel underneath almost totally preventing the paint being chipped away to bare metal. I have looked at hundreds of period photos, especially of wrecks and combat vehicles, and found very little evidence of chipping and rusting.

 

