No wings, flaps, landing gear canopies or cockpits. No elaborate decals, schemes or photo etch. Just a tough little armored vehicle, Tamiya’s new 1:48 JGSDF LAV (Japanese Ground Self Defense Force Light Armored Vehicle). A quality kit (it is a Tamiya) with excellent detail, inexpensive, of interest to me and a 3-D canvass that will offer as much simplicity or complexity as I care to devote to it.

I’m kind of running a personal experiment to compare complex and lengthy builds with more simple and restrained ones. This LAV and the 1:48 Tamiya Sturmtiger will be contrasted with the Meng 1:35 Mk.5 Heavy with full interior. I will make a strong effort to keep current here with the build progress and my thoughts about it.

And, here is the little tough guy riding inside

IMG_3384

So, do I add him too? I think I will. Will be only dimly seen behind tinted windows, but never-the- less, I think he needs to be modeled and in the driver’s seat. Besides, I will learn a thing or two about painting 1:48 scale figures.

 

July 9, 2017

The major assembly is done. Remaining tasks are to assemble and paint the driver and attach him to the seat, tint the windows, paint the body with camouflage colors, install the windows, attach the body to the chassis, paint and install the wheels, detail paint the small bits and running lights, decal, and lightly weather.

The thought occurs: attach the finished vehicle to the Challenger II with a tow cable and make a simple desert scene. Perhaps modernize a few 1:48 Wehrmacht figures I have to add to the scene. Historically accurate? Perhaps not, but in my Models In Scale universe, I create the history.

