No modeling over Christmas. Today I finished the ripper assembly and attached it to the chassis. It is cleverly designed to articulate much like the real thing. Nice work by Meng. Hydraulic hoses yet to come.

 

Today I spent some time assembling the armored walls of the operator’s cab. From reading Marcus’ final article in Model Illustrated Modeler about his build of the D9R I have used the clear window “glass” in lieu of masking I should be able to remove the interior frames, which are not glued (except for a couple that were too loose, so I used a bit of Elmer’s white glue to keep them in place), along with the clear glass after painting and replace them with the green tinted glass. If I keep the top of the cab removable until that point, and perhaps permanently, that should be a workable solution. Time will tell.

The interior walls will be done in an off white, the floor, consoles and seat platforms in a kind of sandy olive. Meng calls this color out as “hemp”. Years ago, when I was smoking pot on a regular basis, I never are across any that was the color of Meng’s “hemp”. It was more greenish or OD perhaps. Hard to remember. Anyway, I’ll mix up something like that. The seats, of course will be black with maybe a crack here and there with some yellow “foam” showing through. Instruments, wiring, etc. will be brush painted. The main instrument panel, dominated by a computer screen (in a bulldozer? Times have changed.) is practically the only interior decal in the kit.

I’m pretty much set on doing an IDF machine with minimal wear and damage. Some, along with some acccumulated dirt but I’m not going to bash and rust it up. I admire those modelers who can do convincing DRAW (dirt, rust, abuse, wear) effects, but I like mine more pristine. I think too much of that, dioramas excepted, detract from the model itself which is the thing I am most interested in creating.

